Ladakh leaders including BJP district president decide to boycott ensuing LAHDC elections


Leh, Sep 22 : Apex body of ‘Peoples Movement for Sixth Schedule for Ladakh’ has decided to boycott the upcoming elections for Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council elections till Government of India doesn’t safeguard the territorial integrity of the region.

At least 12 members of organizing committee of ‘Peoples Movement for Sixth Schedule for Ladakh’ are signatories to a draft dispatched to Lieutenant Governor Ladakh which states that the members have unanimously resolved to boycott the ensuing 6th LAHDC Leh election till such time the constitutional safeguard under sixth schedule on the lines of BODO Territorial Council is not extended to UT Ladakh and its people.

The signatories are former Rajya Sabha member Skyabje Thiksey Khanpo Rinponchey, former member Parliament Thustan Chhewang, former minister Chhering Dorje Lakrook, President All Ladakh Gonpa Association Ven Shatup Chamba, President Ladakh Buddhist Association PT Kunzang, President Anjuman Imamia Ashraf Ali Barcha, President Anjuaman Moin-ul-Islam Dr Abdul Qayoom, President Christian Community Dechen Chamgha, former minister and president Territorial Congress UT Ladakh Nawang Rigzin Jora, District President BJP Nawang Samstan, Convenor Aam Aadmi Party T. Phuntsog and president LEAF Jigment Paljor.

Pertinently, Secretary Election Department Ladakh, Saugat Biswas recently issued an election notification stating that the Administration has decided to conduct the 6th LAHDC elections to constitute a new Council in accordance with the provisions of Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council Act, 1997.

Political, social and religious parties in Ladakh are all on the same page demanding constitutional safeguards after the region was declared as Union Territory and abrogation of special status of Jammu and Kashmir.

Related posts

Leave a Comment